Closer Than You Know

A Novel Brad Parks. B ALSO BY RAD PARKS Say Nothing THE CARTER ROSS MYSTERY SERIES Faces of the Gone Eyes of the Innocent The Girl Next Door The Good Cop The Player The Fraud CLOSER THAN YOU A N C W E L BRAD.

Closer Than You Know

Brad Parks delivers a riveting, emotionally powerful stand-alone domestic suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and What She Knew. Disaster is always closer than you know. It was a lesson Melanie Barrick learned the hard way growing up in the constant upheaval of foster care. But now that she’s survived into adulthood—with a loving husband, a steady job, and a beautiful baby boy named Alex—she thought that turmoil was behind her. Until one Tuesday evening when she goes to pick up Alex from childcare only to discover he’s been removed by Social Services. And no one will say why. It’s a terrifying scenario for any parent, but doubly so for Melanie, who knows the unintended horrors of what everyone coldly calls “the system.” Her nightmare grows worse when she arrives home to learn her house has been raided by sheriff’s deputies, who have found enough cocaine to send Melanie to prison for years. The evidence against her is overwhelming, and if Melanie can’t prove her innocence, she’ll lose Alex forever. Meanwhile, assistant commonwealth’s attorney Amy Kaye—who has been assigned Melanie’s case—has her own troubles. She’s been dogged by a cold case no one wants her to pursue: a serial rapist who has avoided detection by wearing a mask and whispering his commands. Over the years, he has victimized dozens of women. Including Melanie. Yet now her attacker might be the key to her salvation... or her undoing.

More Books:

Closer Than You Know
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Brad Parks
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-03-06 - Publisher: Penguin

Brad Parks delivers a riveting, emotionally powerful stand-alone domestic suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and What She Knew. Disaster is always closer than you know. It was a lesson Melanie Barrick learned the hard way growing up in the constant upheaval of foster care. But
Closer Than You Think
Language: en
Pages: 688
Authors: Karen Rose
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-02-03 - Publisher: Penguin

A woman on the run must confront her dark past at her family’s home in Cincinnati in this thrilling novel of romantic suspense from New York Times bestselling author Karen Rose. Psychologist Faith Corcoran is desperate to escape the stalker who’s made her life a nightmare for the past year—desperate
Closer Than You Think
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: S.A. Barton
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-12-24 - Publisher: S.A. Barton

A short story collection: 21 stories and about 64,000 words. Closer Than You Think is a journey from the near future -- self-driving cars, automation, 3D printing -- to the far future where, who knows? houses may own humans or climate change might force the last of humanity to take
Closer Than You Think
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: Deborah Heneghan
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-05-01 - Publisher: Hampton Roads Publishing

Deborah Heneghan was fifteen when her seventeen-year-old sister died of cancer. A few weeks later, she woke in the middle of the night to a faint whisper summoning her. That was the beginning of Heneghan’s communication with her dead sister, one that continues to this day. In Closer Than You
CLOSER Than You Think!
Language: en
Pages: 126
Authors: Dave Sircom
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-05-11 - Publisher: Dave Sircom

How to prove to yourself we do survive death!