Cool Gray City of Love

For readers of E. B. White's Here is New York, Jose Saramago's Journey to Portugal, or Alfred Kazin's A Walker in the City, Cool, Gray City of Love is an ambitious, insightful one-of-a-kind book for a one-of-a-kind city.

Cool Gray City of Love

"A kaleidoscopic homage both personal and historical . . . Kamiya's symphony of San Francisco is a grand pleasure." -New York Times Book Review The bestselling love letter to one of the world's great cities, San Francisco, by a life-long Bay Area resident and co-founder of Salon. Cool, Gray City of Love brings together an exuberant combination of personal history, deeply researched history, in-depth reporting, and lyrical prose to create an unparalleled portrait of San Francisco. Each of its 49 chapters explores a specific site or intersection in the city, from the mighty Golden Gate Bridge to the raunchy Tenderloin to the soaring sea cliffs at Land's End. Encompassing the city's Spanish missionary past, a gold rush, a couple of earthquakes, the Beats, the hippies, and the dot-com boom, this book is at once a rambling walking tour, a natural and human history, and a celebration of place itself-a guide to loving any city more faithfully and fully. For readers of E. B. White's Here is New York, Jose Saramago's Journey to Portugal, or Alfred Kazin's A Walker in the City, Cool, Gray City of Love is an ambitious, insightful one-of-a-kind book for a one-of-a-kind city.

More Books:

Cool Gray City of Love
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Gary Kamiya
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-08-06 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

"A kaleidoscopic homage both personal and historical . . . Kamiya's symphony of San Francisco is a grand pleasure." -New York Times Book Review The bestselling love letter to one of the world's great cities, San Francisco, by a life-long Bay Area resident and co-founder of Salon. Cool, Gray City
San Francisco, the Cool, Gray City of Love
Language: en
Pages: 61
Authors: Jean Porter, Leonard Cahn
Categories: San Francisco (Calif.)
Type: BOOK - Published: 1981 - Publisher: Dutton Adult

Books about San Francisco, the Cool, Gray City of Love
A San Francisco Songster
Language: en
Pages: 492
Authors: History of Music Project
Categories: Folk songs
Type: BOOK - Published: 1939 - Publisher:

Books about A San Francisco Songster
Spirits of San Francisco
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Gary Kamiya
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-11-03 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

A Beat Most Anticipated Graphic Novel of Fall 2020 From two bestselling, prizewinning, and critically acclaimed contemporary chroniclers of San Francisco comes a rich, illustrated, idiosyncratic portrait of this great city. Gary Kamiya's Cool Gray City of Love: 49 Views of San Francisco was a #1 bestseller and an award
City of Trees
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Sophie Cunningham
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-04-02 - Publisher: Text Publishing

A rich and insightful collection of personal essays about life, death and our connection to the environment from bestselling Australian author Sophie Cunningham