Aristocrats

in Past and Present, 74 (1977) Sanderson, M. H. B., Scottish Rural Society in the Sixteenth Century (1982) Saul, N., ... 1883-5) Spiers, W. I., The Notebook and Account Book of Nicholas Stone, 7 (Walpole Society, 1918-19) Squier, C. L., ...

Aristocrats

For nine hundred years the British aristocracy has considered itself ideally qualified to rule others, make laws and guide the fortunes of the nation. Tracing the history of this remarkable supremacy, ARISTOCRATS is a story of wars, intrigue, chicanery and extremes of both selflessness and greed. James also illuminates how the aristocracy's infatuation with classical art has forged our heritage, how its love of sport has shaped our pastimes and values - and how its scandals have entertained the public. Impeccably researched, balanced and brilliantly entertaining, ARISTOCRATS is an enthralling history of power, influence and an extraordinary knack for survival.

More Books:

The Scoundrel Takes A Bride: Regency Rogues Book 5
Language: en
Pages: 251
Authors: Stefanie Sloane
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-01-01 - Publisher: Hachette UK

The fifth Regency Rogues novel of desire, danger, intrigue, and steamy seduction from acclaimed writer Stefanie Sloane. Perfect for fans of Sabrina Jeffries, Stephanie Laurens and Eloisa James. A notorious scoundrel, the right Honourable Nicholas Bourne has spent years in the East Indies amassing a fortune through questionable means. When
Proceedings of the Somersetshire Archaeological and Natural History Society
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Somersetshire Archaeological and Natural History Society
Categories: Archaeology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1947 - Publisher:

Books about Proceedings of the Somersetshire Archaeological and Natural History Society
Design and Plan in the Country House
Language: en
Pages: 338
Authors: Andor Harvey Gomme, Austin Harvey Gomme, Alison Maguire, Maguire Alison
Categories: Architecture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-01-01 - Publisher: Yale University Press

The way a man thinks about his day-to-day living and the needs of his household reveals a great deal about his ambitions, his idea of himself, and his role in the community. And his house or castle offers many clues to his habits as well as those of the members
Sir Thomas Gresham and Gresham College
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Francis Ames-Lewis
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-12-05 - Publisher: Routledge

In March 1997 the Society for Renaissance Studies and Gresham College together organised a conference to celebrate the 400th anniversary of Gresham College’s foundation. The papers delivered at that conference and assembled in this book examine why Gresham College was established, and how its purposes and activities dovetailed with the
Aristocrats
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: Lawrence James
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-09-02 - Publisher: Hachette UK

For nine hundred years the British aristocracy has considered itself ideally qualified to rule others, make laws and guide the fortunes of the nation. Tracing the history of this remarkable supremacy, ARISTOCRATS is a story of wars, intrigue, chicanery and extremes of both selflessness and greed. James also illuminates how