Queen of the Negro Leagues

The draft makes it clear that while baseball should recognize that “the Negro fan and the Negro player are part and parcel of the game,” the enormous growth in black attendance for International League games in which Jackie Robinson had ...

Queen of the Negro Leagues

Rev. ed. of: Effa Manley and the Newark Eagles. 1993, and of later edition: Queen of the Negro leagues, 1998.

More Books:

Queen of the Negro Leagues
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: James Overmyer
Categories: African American business enterprises
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers

Rev. ed. of: Effa Manley and the Newark Eagles. 1993, and of later edition: Queen of the Negro leagues, 1998.
Baseball's Leading Lady
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Andrea Williams
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-01-05 - Publisher: Roaring Brook Press

For fans of Hidden Figures and Steve Sheinkin's Undefeated, Andrea Williams's Baseball's Leading Lady is the powerful true story of Effa Manley, the first and only woman inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Before Jackie Robinson broke Major League Baseball's color barrier in 1947, Black athletes played in
The Negro Leagues in New Jersey
Language: en
Pages: 280
Authors: Alfred M. Martin, Alfred T. Martin
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-01-10 - Publisher: McFarland

This work examines the historical significance of the state of New Jersey in the Negro League legacy, especially the black baseball players, teams, owners and managers, and their struggles against not just segregation, and their accomplishments. The book includes photographs, appendices (records of New Jersey Negro League teams, 1923–1948, and
The Negro Leagues Chronology
Language: en
Pages: 216
Authors: Christopher Hauser
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-07-11 - Publisher: McFarland

Painstakingly researched and documented, this volume is a comprehensive, year-by-year reference work giving important—yet often obscure—dates in Negro League history. From the Negro Leagues’ organized beginning in 1920 through their steep decline immediately after Jackie Robinson’s 1947 breaking of the color barrier, entries cover league meetings, noteworthy games, the commentary
The Negro Southern League
Language: en
Pages: 276
Authors: William J. Plott
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-04-02 - Publisher: McFarland

The Negro Southern League was a baseball minor league that operated off and on from 1920 to 1951. It served as a valuable feeder system to the Negro National League and the Negro American League. A number of NNL and NAL stars got their start in the NSL, among them